Brockville Braves Carleton Place Canadians Cornwall Colts Navan Grads Hawkesbury Hawks Kemptville 73s Nepean Raiders Ottawa Jr Senators Pembroke Lumber Kings Renfrew Wolves Rockland Nationals Smiths Falls Bears

COMMITMENT ALERT | David Bérubé commits to St. Mary’s University for 2020-2021

Ottawa, ON – Ottawa Jr. Senators are proud to announce that ’99 forward David Bérubé has committed to U Sports St. Mary’s University for this upcoming season.

Bérubé, 20, totaled 20 goals, 26 assists, and 46 points in 60 games this season. The Price, QC native accumulated 51 goals, 85 assists, for 136 points through 159 career games split between the QCHL’s Sainte-Foy Dynamiques and Ottawa.

“I’m really excited for this new opportunity that allows me to play hockey at a high level for four more years,” said Bérubé. “Also, I want to thank the entire OJS organization for taking care of me while I was in Ottawa.”

Bérubé was signed last summer to spend his final junior season in Ottawa and earned top minutes night in and night out to rank third on the team in points. He was named a Yzerman Division All-Star this past November, as well as apart of the CCHL for an exhibition game at UMass Lowell in December.

“We’re definitely excited for David as he is joining a great organization,” said Head Coach Martin Dagenais. “He only played one year with us but made quite an impact. He’ll have to fight to earn ice time in St. Mary’s because they have a very good team every year but we’re confident that his time will come. His work ethic alone will help him make his way up.”

Bérubé now joins the list of Jr. Senators who will be attending U Sports or NCAA programs next year as Christophe Côté (Brock), Owen Cole (UMass Lowell), Tucker McIntosh (St. Lawrence), Conor Smart (Oswego State), Bailey Brant (Lake Forest) and Faisal Alsaif (Williams) will all go off to begin their post junior hockey careers.