Brockville Braves Carleton Place Canadians Cornwall Colts Navan Grads Hawkesbury Hawks Kanata Lasers Kemptville 73s Nepean Raiders Ottawa Jr Senators Pembroke Lumber Kings Rockland Nationals Smiths Falls Bears

Ottawa wins the Yzerman Division with the 3-1 win over Kanata

By: Dante De Caria

Ottawa, Ontario – The Ottawa Jr. Senators (42-16-3) defeated the Kanata Lasers (30-27-5) 3-1 on Saturday night at the Jim Durrell Sports Complex.

With the win, the Ottawa Jr. Senators clinch the Yzerman Division for sixth straight season. They now have 87-points, eight points ahead of the second seed Yzerman Division Hawkesbury Hawks. Ottawa also moves to second in the CCHL league standings.

The Jr. Senators scored three unanswered goals in the second period, taking the 3-0 lead. Kyle Jackson scored his 21st, Colin Marshall netted his first since coming back from injury and Danny Pion received his ninth of the year.

Ottawa outshot Kanata 29-23. Joshua Ward made 22-saves for his 12th victory of the season. The Jr. Sens sweep the season series 6-0.