Brockville Braves Carleton Place Canadians Cornwall Colts Hawkesbury Hawks Kemptville 73s Navan Grads Nepean Raiders Ottawa Jr Senators Pembroke Lumber Kings Renfrew Wolves Rockland Nationals Smiths Falls Bears

Jr. Senators Emerge Victorious for Fourth Consecutive Season

Ottawa, ON – Following a 42-8-5 regular season, the Ottawa Jr. Senators were able to climb the mountain once again in the post-season, capturing their fourth straight Bogart Cup on Friday night.

“This is such a surreal feeling,” said captain Wil Murphy, who led all defencemen in scoring with 14 points during the playoffs. “We battled and everyone bought in. Proud to be a member and the leader of this team.”

After back-to-back series victories in five games over the Cornwall Colts and Brockville Braves, the Jr. Senators had one last box to check, to take down the Smiths Falls Bears.

The Bogart Cup Finals did not get off on the right note for OJS, falling 5-2 on home ice in game one, then a sour 1-0 defeat on the road in overtime in game two.

“We came out a little flat in game one and they took it to us, but I thought we played one of our best games in game two,” said the 2022-2023 CCHL Coach of the Year, Kyle Makaric. “We hadn’t faced much adversity all season and to get it in the finals was tough, but the veterans took charge and guided us in the right direction to get back into the series and eventually get over the hump.”

Trailing 2-0 in a must-win game three on home ice, the Jr. Senators laid a 7-1 beatdown on the Bears to pull momentum back on their side. On the road in game four, OJS pulled level with a 4-2 victory.

In another must-win in game five, OJS put forward another strong effort to win their third straight game and put themselves within one win of capturing the Bogart Cup. Massimo Gentile recorded his third straight two-goal game to put the team one win away from glory.

Following a wild back-and-forth first period in game six, overtime was needed yet again at the Smiths Falls Memorial Centre. Despite another terrific road game, OJS dropped another contest in extra time 3-2 to set up game seven.

Game seven showed why OJS was the best team throughout the regular season as they defeated Smiths Falls by a 6-2 score. Chase Lammi scored two goals, Emile Villiard, Will Murphy, Andrew Uturo, and Owen Protz added singles, while Rorke Applebee made 28 saves as the Junior Senators claimed their fourth straight Bogart Cup Championship.

“I love this team,” explained Massimo Gentile, who tallied 19 points in 17 playoff games. “We have a championship DNA in the locker room and throughout the organization and I’m so proud to be a part of this group.”

Rorke Applebee was named playoff MVP, posting a 12-2-3 record in the playoffs, with a 1.93 GAA and .936 Save percentage. Applebee becomes the fourth straight OJS netminder to take home the award joining Conor Hicks, Francis Boisvert, and Will Desmarais.

The OJS top line of Chase Lammi (who led the playoffs in scoring with 24 points), Mikael Hebert, and Massimo Gentile combined for 12 goals and 22 assists for 34 points in the seven-game series.

OJS will now head to Portage La Prarie, Manitoba, and represent the CCHL at the Centennial Cup where they will take on the champions from the other nine Canadian Junior Hockey leagues.

Round-Robin Schedule

Friday May 12th @ 12:30PM EST @ Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ)

Saturday May 13th @ 4:30PM EST Vs Brooks Bandits (AJHL)

Monday May 15th @ 12:30PM @ Yarmouth Mariners (MHL)

Wednesday May 17th @ 12:30PM Vs Timmins Rock (NOJHL)